Studio news and new projects

December 2, 2010


I have recently moved the studio to my new place of residence and it remains to be set up and in full working order.  As a result I am working on peripheral projects that had to take a back seat to my contemporary paintings.  One thing I’ve resumed is my project of creating fine contemporary art using functional instruments such as guitars or drums.  I will begin work on a drum kit this weekend and began work on a bass earlier this week.  Take a look at this nearly completed Stratocaster copy, I started with a sunburst body, stripped the paint carved my design and refinished it w/ a faux wood grain.

original finish Original finish

Side Embelishments

before tone

finished product by Zachary Brown

In addition to my instrument projects I’ve also begun work on a photography project I’ve been dreaming about for over two years.  This is my photo series of improperly illuminated signage. Such signs are telling of the times but create an interesting visual with their unintended forms.

Editions are 10 prints plus artists proof
8″x10″ – $40

"ill" by Zachary Brown

“ill”

"A Building Tradit" By Zachary Brown

“A Building Tradit”

Leave a Reply

