Buy It Or Burn It: impromptu gorilla auctioneering

July 6, 2010


I recently got an e-mail from Doogallery about their  upcoming events.  They have quite a few unique exhibition opportunities but one caught my eye over all the others.  It was called “Buy It Or Burn It”.  The idea is that any unsold art at the end of the night will be burned.  I decided not to wait for the event and just burn an older painting of mine if it went unsold.  Here’s what I did:

I posted on my Facebook Page for my art which also goes to my twitter which in turn feeds to my personal facebook page.  I set a deadline of  11pm that evening and gave the description that the piece will be burned if it went unsold.  To my delight bids came in and in the end The Daugherty family of Georgia attained victory.

Burn Barrel

To view the piece and the bid history go directly to the image on my facebook page: *disclamer poor photo quality of this work as I wasn’t as adept at taking photos of art for display on the internet, hence the flash and fuzz. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=5673788&id=90098050007

Leave a Reply

